top of page
Screenshot 2023-10-07 4.35.31 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-09-10 4.41.44 PM.png
The prophetic fullment of all nine feast
Festival of Lights . . .  Shortly after sundown on the first day of Sukkot the priests would light four huge lamps in the Court of the Women, each with four huge bowls which held 7 – 8 gallons of oil and had wicks made from "swaddling clothes" - the used undergarments of the priests.
The Water Libation Ceremony . . .  ​  37 On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”[a] John 7:37-38 
he 7-day Festival of Sukkot pictures the 1000-year Messianic kingdom, the time when Yeshua will officially fulfill the role of His father, King David (Luke 1:31-33).

Sukkot, das Laubhüttenfest!

 

 

Das 7-tägige Fest von Sukkot stellt das 1000-jährige messianische Königreich dar, die Zeit, in der Yeshua offiziell die Rolle seines Vaters, König David, erfüllen wird (Lukas 1:31-33). _cc781905-5cde -3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

 

Der Sukkot fällt mit der Herbsternte in Israel zusammen -136bad5cf58d_ An jenem Tag wird Gottes Geist über die ganze Erde ausgegossen werden (Joel 2:28-29) und sein Wort wird in allen Nationen gepredigt werden (Jesaja 55:11-12).

 

Das Königreich Israel unter den Königen David und Salomo war ein Bild von Gottes tausendjährigem Königreich. Unter Salomo genoss Israel die Vorteile seiner enormen Weisheit, großen Reichtums, des Friedens mit all seinen Nachbarn, Gott, der im Tempel wohnt, und die Wiedereinsetzung rechtschaffener Richter.

 

Schriftliche Einhaltung von Sukkot. . .

 

Die Schrift enthält eine Reihe von Anweisungen, wie wir das Fest feiern sollen.  Wir sollen unseren Zehnten, Erstlingsfrüchte und freiwilligen Opfergaben sammeln und sie nach Jerusalem bringen; wir sollen uns vor YHVH freuen, indem wir bestimmte Pflanzenarten verwenden; wir sollen einen Teil unseres Zehnten nehmen und uns sieben Tage lang an Speisen und starken Getränken ergötzen; Wir sollen eine Laubhütte bauen und nichts als Freude haben!

Zusätzlich zu dem, was in der Schrift vorgeschrieben ist, hat Gottes Volk im Laufe der Jahre verschiedene Traditionen entwickelt, die die Einhaltung des Festes verbessern.

 

Die Wasserzeremonie. . .

 

37 Am letzten und größten Tag des Festes stand Jesus auf und sagte mit lauter Stimme: „Wer durstig ist, soll zu mir kommen und trinken. 38 Wer an mich glaubt, wie die Schrift sagt, aus dem werden Ströme lebendigen Wassers fließen.“[a] Johannes 7:37-38 

 

 

 

 

 

Lichterfest . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kurz nach Sonnenuntergang am ersten Tag von Sukkot zündeten die Priester vier riesige Lampen im Hof der Frauen an, jede mit vier riesigen Schalen, die 7 – 8 Gallonen Öl enthielten und Dochte aus „Windeln“ – der gebrauchten Unterwäsche – hatten die Priester.

Als alle Lampen angezündet waren, hieß es, dass sie die ganze Stadt Jerusalem erleuchteten. Alle Männer begannen dann in einer großen Feier zu tanzen und zu singen.

Diese Freude dauerte jeden Abend bis spät in die Nacht zum Fest.

Warum eine Sukka

Sukkot ist die Pluralform des hebräischen Wortes „sukkah“. Der erste Ort, an dem wir eine Laubhütte finden, die in der Schrift erwähnt wird, ist dort, wo Jakob sie für sein Vieh gebaut hat, als er auf seiner Reise zurück zu Kanaan 1. Mose 33:17 war. So ist eine Laubhütte eine hastig gebaute provisorische Unterkunft, die ein Hirt  aus verfügbaren Materialien während einer Reise errichten würde.

Als Gott die Israeliten aus der ägyptischen Sklaverei befreite, beabsichtigte Er, dass ihre Reise kurz sein sollte, da sie Gottes Wege erfuhren und sich auf den Weg ins Verheißene Land machten.  Auf dieser Reise und ohne Zelte Um dort übernachten zu können, bauten die Menschen offenbar provisorische Unterkünfte, während sie unterwegs lagerten. Diese Unterkünfte waren alles, was sie brauchten, denn Gott sorgte für alles, was sie brauchten – Er war genau dort in ihrer Mitte und sorgte tagsüber für Schatten und nachts für die Wärme des Feuers.  fütterte sie täglich mit Brot vom Himmel und bewahrte ihre Kleidung vor Abnutzung. Diese Zeit in der Wildnis gab Israel einen Einblick in das, was sie im Land der Verheißung erwartete.

 

Fast tausend Jahre später stellte Esra dem jüdischen Volk das Verständnis der Laubhütte wieder her, wie es im Buch Nehemia aufgezeichnet ist.

Während des Laubhüttenfestes soll Gottes Volk diese provisorischen Unterkünfte bauen (3. Mose 23:42-43). Sie sollen uns daran erinnern, dass wir lediglich Reisende sind, die in vorübergehenden sterblichen Körpern leben, während wir unseren Weg zum verheißenen Land – dem Reich Gottes – fortsetzen.

 

Der jüdische Talmud weist darauf hin, dass während Sukkot im ersten Jahrhundert in Jerusalem an jedem Tag des Festes eine besondere Zeremonie durchgeführt wurde. Diese Zeremonie wurde zusätzlich zu den verschiedenen Opfern und Trankopfern durchgeführt, die in der Tora vorgeschrieben sind (Numeri 29:12-17). Jeden Tag wedelte eine Gruppe von Priestern auf ihrem Weg zum Tempel mit langen Weidenzweigen hin und her und machte ein „rauschendes“ Geräusch. Zur gleichen Zeit sammelte eine andere Gruppe von Priestern einen Krug Wasser aus dem Teich von Siloah und brachte ihn ebenfalls zum Tempel. Wenn die beiden Gruppen am Altar zusammenkamen, umkreisten die Priester mit Weiden den Altar einmal, während die Priester mit den Krügen den Altar hinaufstiegen und das Wasser und den Wein in spezielle Öffnungen an der südwestlichen Ecke des Altars gossen.

 

Am 7. oder „letzten großen Tag“ des Festes umkreisten die Priester den Altar siebenmal statt einmal. Diese Zeremonie hatte viele Zwecke, einschließlich der Bitte um Regen für die kommende Vegetationsperiode; aber der Hauptzweck bestand darin, die große Ausgießung des Heiligen Geistes zu veranschaulichen, die in Joel 2 prophezeit wurde.

Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Yeshua sich zu Beginn dieser Zeremonie als Quelle lebendigen Wassers offenbarte.

bottom of page

Sukkot, the Feast of Tabernacles!

 

 

The 7-day Festival of Sukkot pictures the 1000-year Messianic kingdom, the time when Yeshua will officially fulfill the role of His father, King David (Luke 1:31-33).  

 

 Sukkot coincides with the fall harvest in Israel.  It pictures the general harvest, when all kinds of fruits and vegetables are harvested together.  In that day, God's spirit will be poured out on all the earth (Joel 2:28-29) and His word will be preached throughout all the nations (Isaiah 55:11-12).

 

The Kingdom of Israel under kings David and Solomon was a picture of God's millennial kingdom. Under Solomon, Israel enjoyed the benefits of his tremendous wisdom, great riches, peace with all her neighbors, God dwelling in the Temple, and the re-establishment of righteous judges.

 

Scriptural observance of Sukkot . . .

 

The scripture provides a number of instructions pertaining to how we are to observe the festival.  We are to gather our tithes, first fruits, and free-will offerings and bring them to Jerusalem; we are to rejoice before YHVH using specific plant species; we are to take part of our tithes and feast on food and strong drink for seven days; we are to build a sukkah, and we are to have nothing but joy!

In addition to what is prescribed in scripture, over the years, God's people have developed various traditions that enhance the observance of the festival.

 

The Water Libation Ceremony . . .

 

37 On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”[a] John 7:37-38 

 

 

 

 

 

Festival of Lights . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shortly after sundown on the first day of Sukkot the priests would light four huge lamps in the Court of the Women, each with four huge bowls which held 7 – 8 gallons of oil and had wicks made from "swaddling clothes" - the used undergarments of the priests.

When the lamps were all lit, it was said that they illuminated the entire city of Jerusalem. All the men would then begin dancing and singing in a great celebration.

This rejoicing would last late into the night every night to the feast.

Why a Sukkah

Sukkot is the plural form of the Hebrew word 'sukkah'. The first place we find a sukkah mentioned in the scripture is where Jacob built them for his livestock while on his journey back to Canaan Genesis 33:17. Thus a sukkah is a hastily built temporary shelter that a herdsman would  construct using available materials while on a journey.

When God freed the Israelites from Egyptian slavery, He intended for their journey to be brief as they learned of God's ways and made their way to the Promised Land.  While on that journey, and having no tents to stay in, the people apparently built temporary shelters as they camped along the way. Those shelters were all they needed since God provided for their every need - He was right there in their midst providing a covering of shade by day and the warmth of fire by night.  Along the way, He fed them daily with bread from Heaven and kept their clothes from wearing out. This time in the wilderness gave Israel a glimpse of what was awaiting them in the Promised land.

 

Nearly a thousand years later, Ezra restored the understanding of the Sukkah to the Jewish people as is recorded in the book of Nehemiah.

During the Feast of Tabernacles, God's people are to build these temporary shelters (Leviticus 23:42-43). They are to remind us that we are merely sojourners, living in temporary mortal bodies as we continue our walk toward the Promised Land - the Kingdom of God.

 

The Jewish Talmud indicates that during Sukkot in first century Jerusalem, a special ceremony was conducted on each day of the festival. This ceremony was conducted in addition to the various sacrifices and libation offerings commanded in the Torah (Numbers 29:12-17). Each day a group of priests would wave long willow branches back and forth making a 'swooshing' sound as they made their way towards the Temple. At the same time, another group of priests would gather a pitcher of water from the Pool of Siloam and bring it to the Temple as well. When the two groups converged at the altar, the priests with willows would circle the altar one time while the priests with the pitchers would ascend the altar and pour the water and wine into special ports located on the southwest corner of the altar.

 

On the 7th, or 'Last Great Day' of the festival, the priests would circle the altar seven times instead of once. This ceremony had many purposes including the request for rain for the upcoming growing season; but the primary purpose was to illustrate the great outpouring of the Holy Spirit that was prophesied in Joel 2.

It is quite likely that Yeshua revealed Himself to be source of living water as this ceremony was commencing.